ORGONE BOX "THE LORNE PARK TAPES" (SUGARBUSH SB019), limited to 250 copies on melancholic black vinyl!
Rick Corcoran, one man Pop legend, returns to SUGARBUSH RCORDS with a fantastic album of vintage 4 track demos from the early 90's. With many previously unreleased and rare tracks classic this LO-FI LP nevertheless sounds like a lost gem from the late 60's. Guitars jangle and phase, vocals and harmonies flange in and out of range and the songs are some of the best the great man ever wrote. When I say "lo-fi" I am being disingenious actually, the sound (considering the limitations of the 4-track cassette medium) is actually superb, if a little closer to the mid-range than most modern recordings. If you liked his CENTAUR album (now deleted and sold out) you will love this 11 tracks of amazing Pop Confectionary valiantly produced on a vintage 4-track cassette recorder, lo-fi or not - this is Pop Heaven! This is very limited on vinyl and will not be repressed. Get it while you can! Tracks are:

side 1
1. bastard angel two
2. in the right hands
3. hello wonderland
4. star
5. the audition
6. just like a woman should be (alt. version)
side 2
1. barbican
2. my reply
3. storytime
4.last ride on the jets
5.hard for me


DUNCAN MAITLAND "LULLABIES FOR THE 21ST CENTURY" (SUGARBUSH SB017), only 250 copies on coloured vinyl! £18.99 inc. postage. Ex Pugwash man Duncan Maitland sees his legendary album released on vinyl for the very first time. Featuring members of XTC, DIVINE COMEDY & PUGWASH this is a fantastic 60s tinged album of melody, harmony and brilliant playing. A review in "Powerpopaholic" sums it up thus: "Dublin native Duncan Maitland is joined by an all-star guest line-up on his smashing debut Lullabies for The 21st Century. Colin Moulding from XTC plays bass on the opening track, and also helping out are Fran King, Barry O’Brien, Keith Farrell and Tosh Flood (Pugwash). Recorded at his in-home studio, the album draws influences from many favorites. Starting with the richly melodic “Your Century” it has glowing background harmonies and driving bass line.  Followed by the flowing narrative of “Terry The Toad” it adds a great hook in the chorus, and “Crash Position” is a perfect example of modern Beach Boys pop, similar to Rick Gallego (Cloud Eleven).  These songs are not simple ear candy, but complex pop symphonies that don’t rely on a straight formulaic approach. Every song on the album is a meticulous study in pop smarts from the Beatlesque touches of “Alien At Home” and “Horror Stories” to the wistful atmosphere of “Supermarket Dream.”

Duncan Maitland LP

Total Pageviews